Discover the region

Our region has a great cultural wealth and beautiful sites to discover and to visit.

First of all, the French Gard department. Called after the Gard river, locally named the Gardon.
The Gard is part of the Occitanie region (formerly Languedoc-Roussillon). It is bordered with the following departments : Bouches-du-Rhône, Ardèche, Vaucluse, Hérault, Aveyron, and Lozère. Its higher point is the mount Aigoual, set in the Cévennes at 1,567 meters of altitude.

The Gard's zones

The department owns a great geological variety which has structured its landscapes. It divides in four zones:
  • the zone of the Cévennes, on the north-west
  • the Garrigues, in the center
  • the Costières, in the south-east,
  • and the "low-land", constituted of the rhodanian plain, the littoral plain, and the little Camargue.